Office of Financial Aid

Financial Aid:
Information on federal financial aid, how need is determined, how to fill out the FAFSA application, etc.

The university awards several hundred academic scholarships each year in varying amounts. However, most scholarships awarded are awarded to cover the amount of main registration fees. Scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and need are factors utilized in evaluating applicants.

Scholarships are awarded for the academic year and are not available for summer school. Students applying for scholarships must have been enrolled in I.A.U. for at least two semesters and rank in the top twenty-five percent of their high classes. Currently enrolled students must have at least a 3.5 overall grade point average, and must be enrolled full-time. Current students wishing to be considered for a General University Scholarship must submit a new application each year.

The General University Scholarship deadline date is March 1. However, some scholarships have an earlier deadline. Information may be obtained from the Scholarship and Financial Aid Office.

Distinguished Scholarship Programs

Distinguished scholarships are awarded annually to entering students with outstanding scholastic records without regard to financial need. The deadline to apply for distinguished scholarships is January 15.

IAU offers the following distinguished scholarships:

The Blanca Amelia Fernández Merit Scholarship

The merit scholarship program has been created in memoriam of Mrs. Blanca A. Fernández, an Asturian immigrant to the United States who always distinguished herself in helping out young people committed to excellence and success. The grant offers a four-year, renewable scholarship on a competitive basis to those merit students with a good personal and academic background and who indicate The as their first choice. The award provides registration and tuition fees.

The Suzanne Mubarak Awards

This program of scholarships is so called in the honor of Mrs. Suzanne Mubarak, first Lady of Egypt, who has always tried to help those Egyptian women who, lacking of resources, but with proven academic and professional possibilities have shown the determination of aiming very high in life and complete their objectives in a thorough manner and commitment. This name symbolizes the cultural knots that exist between Spain, the United States and Egypt.

The Presidential Award offers a four-year renewable scholarship on a competitive basis for Egyptian young ladies. There are two kinds of awards: the Basic Award covers all registration and tuition fees; the Full Award also covers registration and tuition fees, plus a campus housing allowance, and book stipend. Eligible candidates must be interviewed for evidence of sound character, and demonstrated leadership in co-curricular, social and community activities.

Recipients must maintain a 3.00 GPA the first year and a 3.25 GPA every semester thereafter. Scholarship award is adjusted if student does not reside on campus. Interested applicants must contact the Ministry of Higher Education in Egypt.

The Ceferino de Anleo Award

The Academic Excellence Scholarship is a four–year renewable scholarship awarded on a competitive basis to academically talented students with outstanding leadership and achievement records. The award amount varies from $2,800 to $3,000. Applicants must have a 3.25 high school GPA.

All Academic Excellence Scholarship recipients must satisfy the academic program service requirement of 20 hours annually. In addition to the annual service requirements, Academic Excellence Scholars have to maintain a 3.0 GPA the first year, and a 3.25 GPA each semester thereafter.

Valedictorian Scholarship

The Ex Alumni Association provides a Valedictorian Scholarship for the top scholar from each of international accredited high schools. The qualifications for this program are that the recipients must rank number one in their class and meet the admission requirements of the university. The award covers yearly in-state registration fees, and is renewable with a 3.0 cumulative grade point average.